MONMOUTH Town’s football tournament was hailed as a great success as over 2,000 players aged between five and 16 and their families descended on the Dixton playing fields at the weekend.

Coach Ben Gouldingay said that the U11s played some wonderful football at the Monmouth Town Junior Football with a brand of football that highlighted both impressive team play and moments of individual excellence from the whole squad. This allowed them to score plenty of goals, conceding none on their way to the age group final.

The final was a far more tense affair, with their opponents, Penlan of Swansea providing a far more physical, and well organised barrier for the Monmouth players to overcome. With the match level at 0-0 after normal time, it progressed into extra time and then penalties. Penlan had the honours of taking first, and sent Kingfishers’ goalkeeper, Joe Porter the wrong way. Kian Davies then stepped up and dispatched an unstoppable penalty in off the post, further penalties were then scored by both teams (Monmouth’s by Harry W), before a Penlan player blazed painfully wide. Under pressure, George Gouldingay stepped up and hit a low drive just out of reach of the Penlan ’keeper to the relief and elation of the Monmouth fans and the rest of the players - Harry Dawes, Luca Capetta, Jayden Makondora, Charley Handley, Callum Wilding, and Olly Kennedy.

The tournament would not have been possible without the hard work and dedication of all the volunteers!

Monmouth U11s, proudly sponsored by Precision Engineering, Evans of Monmouth and G M Mowers and Machinery, also handed out end of year awards to its three teams, the Hawks, Panthers and Sharks. Players were recognised for their contributions during the season by the votes of both players, parents and coaches.

Coaches player of the year went to: Sharks, Matthew Macsen Jones; Panthers Jessie Gough; Hawks Oliver Kennedy.

Parents player of the year went to: Sharks, Charlie Hicks; Panthers Kieran Rees; Hawks George Gouldingay.

Players player of the year awards went to: Sharks, William Frost; Panthers Jamie Mankondora;  Hawks Luca Cappetta.