South East Wales Cricket League Division One - Chepstow (203-4) beat Brecon (74 all out) by 129 runs

CHEPSTOW CC’s First XI consigned Brecon to Division Two and confirmed their third-place thanks to a 129-run victory at Mathern Road on Saturday.

After Brecon skipper James Mitchell won the toss and decided to field, Chepstow posted 203-4 in their allotted 35 overs thanks to Gareth Ansell (70), Sam Hope-Bell, 60 and Tyler Morgan-Huggett (37).

In reply, Brecon were blitzed by a superb performance from Luke Watson who removed the first five batsmen for a total of eight runs (including one run-out), finishing with figures of 4-36 and one maiden in his seven overs.

The visitors’ tail wagged momentarily but home skipper Jason Dobbie (2-10 and three maidens in seven overs), Lewys Jones (2-15 and one maiden in six overs) and Tudor Morgan-Huggett 1-13 and two maidens) restricted Brecon to 74 all out.

Meanwhile, at Mill Lane, Sudbrook First XI confirmed their fourth place finish with a seven wicket victory over Croesyceiliog.

Sudbrook skipper Jamie Watkins won the toss and elected to field.

The visitors lost their skipper Stewart Roden early on and although his partner Ryan Avery made 46, Sudbrook’s bowlers restricted Croesy to 185 with Callum Miles top-scoring with 65.

Scott O’Leary (3-32 in 6.3 overs) and Jonathan Lewis (2-32 9 in four overs) did the most damage.

In their reply, Sudbrook opener Ross Lewis made a run-a-ball 94 and O’Leary chipped in with 38 to post 185-3 in the 31st over.

Bob Cypher