A Labour councillor who was elected to the Town ward at the start of this year has stood down.

Councillor George Rist won the by-election by a five-vote margin, beating councillor Mandi Rugen-Hankey into second place. Mandi has now been elected to stand in the Drybridge ward.

Welsh Labour celebrated the result as the third win in a row and Councillor Catherine Fookes, herself a candidate in the upcoming general election said: “"It has been great to campaign with George and see his passion for our fantastic town. George will make a brilliant Town councillor”. 

However it has emerged, following an alleged incident at The Punch House, he was banned from pubs in Monmouth under the Pub Watch scheme operated by landlords. 

A statement issued by Monmouth Town Council said: “The town council can confirm in a bid to focus on his physical and mental wellbeing, Cllr George Rist tendered his resignation on Tuesday. 

“The elections officer has been informed and vacancy will be displayed for the Town ward.” 

It is also understood he has been suspended by the Labour Party as a result of the ban,

He was described by Cllr Fookes as “dynamic and so enthusiastic about bringing more events to Monmouth. I'm also delighted that we have now won three by-elections in a row this month. A huge thank you to all of the residents who have put their trust in us across Monmouthshire.' 

George Rist said at the time of his election, “I’m delighted that residents in Town Ward have put their trust in me. I look forward to working for them and with the rest of the Town Council to make Monmouth a more prosperous, livelier and cleaner place for us to live."

Cllr Rist tendered his resignation on Tuesday March 12 and the town clerk accepted with immediate effect.  

Rist collected 182 votes, Mandi Jane Rugen-Hankey obtained 177, and the independent candidate, Jamie Treharne, 71.  

On the morning of his election, Cllr Fookes told her followers on X, formerly known as Twitter, she would be campaigning with local party activists “to GOTV” (get the vote out) for George Rist.